Universities authorized to operate in Kenya

The Commission for University Education (CUE) is the body mandated by law to maintain quality standards in relation to university education, training and research. Any higher education institution that wants to set up in the country or to add a course unit must get approval from CUE.

In line with Section 28 (4) of the Universities Act, CUE must publish the list of universities accredited to undertake university education in Kenya. The act only applies to Universities, and does not extend to colleges and other tertiary institutions.

Public Chartered Universities

University of Nairobi
Moi University
Kenyatta University
Egerton University
Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology (JKUAT)
Maseno University
Masinde Muliro University of Science and Technology (MMUST)
Dedan Kimathi University of Technology
Chuka University
Technical University of Kenya
Technical University of Mombasa
Pwani University
Kisii University
University of Eldoret
Maasai Mara University
Jaramogi Oginga Odinga University of Science and Technology
Laikipia University
South Eastern Kenya University
Meru University of Science and Technology
Multimedia University of Kenya
University of Kabianga
Karatina University
Public University Constituent Colleges

Murang’a University College (JKUAT)
Machakos University College (KU)
The Co-operative University College of Kenya (JKUAT)
Embu University College (UoN)
Kirinyaga University College (JKUAT)
Rongo University College (MU)
Kibabii University College (MMUST)
Garissa University College (MU)
Taita Taveta University College (JKUAT)

Private Chartered Universities

University of Eastern Africa, Baraton
Catholic University of Eastern Africa (CUEA)
Daystar University
Scott Christian University
United States International University
Africa Nazarene University
Kenya Methodist University
St. Paul’s University
Pan Africa Christian University
Strathmore University
Kabarak University
Mount Kenya University
Africa International University
Kenya Highlands Evangelical University
Great Lakes University of Kisumu
KCA University
Adventist University of Africa

Private University Constituent Colleges

Hekima University College (CUEA)
Tangaza University College (CUEA)
Marist International University College (CUEA)
Regina Pacis University College (CUEA)
Uzima University College (CUEA)

Institutions with Letters of Interim Authority

Kiriri Women’s University of Science and Technology
Aga Khan University
GRETSA University
Presbyterian University of East Africa
Inoorero University
The East African University
GENCO University
Management University of Africa
Riara University
Pioneer International University
UMMA University
International Leadership University
Zetech University

Registered Private Institutions

KAG – East University

This entry was posted in World. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s